Green Lantern Lives!!!

WARNING!!!

MASSIVE SPOILER AHEAD!!!

Ok, so last month I was all pissed that DC comics killed off my all-time, favorite character, Kyle Rayner. Well, I just finished reading Green Lantern Corp #43 and, to my great relief, Kyle LIVES!!!

In the beginning of the issue Kyle lay dead on the planet of Oa after having defeated several attacking Black Lanterns. His power ring flew off his finger and proceeded on it’s way to space sector 2266. Two GL Corps members, Guy Gardner and Soranik Natu, rushed to his body. His death was too much for both of them to bear and Guy’s rage  allowed a Red Lantern ring to posses him. Natu, a surgeon and Kyle’s lover, attempted to revive him while Guy went on a rampage.

As Natu worked to bring her beloved back, a Black Lantern ring flew in and attempted to turn him into a zombie… But before it could command him to “rise”, an Indigo Lantern, with the power to destroy black rings, along with the rest of the GL Corps, jumped in to save the day!

Meanwhile, in another sector, Star Sapphire Miri, a Violet Lantern who had helped Kyle and Natu on a previous adventure, was informed by her ring that Kyle’s life was about to be extinguished. She immediately sped to his aid. Using Natu and Kyle’s love for each other, she used the power of the Star Sapphires to bring Kyle back to life!

Kyle and Natu embraced and then suddenly his power ring returned to restore him back to the Green Lantern Corps! The surrounding GL Corps members then informed Kyle of Guy’s current status as a Red Lantern and they decided to go help their friend.

And, oh yeah, on the very last page, Mogo, the planetary Green Lantern, showed up, for who knows what. Then it was “to be continued”!

Whew! What an issue! I can’t believe how much shit happened in this! It totally made up for what I thought was Kyle’s demise in the end of last issue. I was glad to see the GL’s finally kick some ass!

It was a very intense issue! When that Black Lantern ring slid onto Kyle’s hand, I was like “Oh, NO, you just didn’t!” I loved how the other hero Lanterns all rallied to help Natu bring Kyle back.

I usually don’t care much for Guy Gardner, but seeing he got as pissed as I did over Kyle’s death, I was like, “Hell, yes! Destroy those damned Black Lanterns, dude!” Now that Kyle’s okay, I’m sure he’ll be able to save Guy in the next issue.

The art by Patrick Gleason was top notch this issue. The splash page featuring Kyle’s return to the GL Corps was very sexy! And the script by Peter J. Tomasi was great. Like I said, it kept me in suspense the whole time! I was actually overcome with joy when Kyle came back. I guess it’s because of how much I love the character, but Mr. Tomasi really made me FEEL with this particular story arc!

After I finished the issue, all I could think was, “Thank you DC, for not killing off my all-time, favorite comic book character!” Yes, Kyle Rayner, Green Lantern LIVES!!!

-Chayne


Explore posts in the same categories: Fan Boy

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

5 Comments on “Green Lantern Lives!!!”

  1. Ken Says:

    See…all you have to do is wait!! LOL! Glad Kyle is okay. But still it would be cool if Terry Berg took over in Kyle’s honor. By the way, when will we see our lover boys Derek & Justin? I miss them! Have a Merry Christmas!!

    • boymeetshero Says:

      I’m glad the wait was only a month! Other fans whose favorite characters are killed off have to wait years sometimes for them to come back. Does DC even remember who Terry is anymore? I haven’t seen him in years.

      Russ and I are taking a break from new stuff with Derek & Justin to redraw our downloadable digital comic “Blue Comet & Fusion: Titanna Strikes” in pencil. We are wanting to have a printed version of that story, but the art was done in Illustrator with vector graphics. So we are going back and doing the art in pencil using what we’ve learned artistically since then. We will return with new stuff someday, we just don’t know when.

      Thanks so much for the comment. Have a Merry Christmas as well!

      • Ken Says:

        Hey..I totally understand you guys need a break with your Boy Meets Hero Comic. You have real lives, so do I. So I will be patience and wait until you are ready to resume the adventure of Blue Comet & Fusion. So again Merry Christmas & a joyous New Year!

        Ken

  2. Craig Says:

    I was so glad to see Kyle return to the living! But when that black ring tried to resurrect him, I thought ” oh jeez, how much is this guy going to go through? He already was turned into Parallax during the last ring war with Sinestro!” Glad he is back, but what a confusing way to resurrect him. I knew you woul be glad to see him back too!


Leave a Reply

